The Horse and His Boy

The Horse and His Boy

The Horse and His Boy is a novel in the series of books by author C.S Lewis The Chronicles of Narnia. This book of the series was also illustrated by Pauline Baynes. More »


About Us

Any lover of books will know The Chronicles of Narnia series. It is a classic in children’s literature, and is considered C.S Lewis’ best works. The Chronicles of Narnia series has been translated into 47 languages and has sold over 100 million copies. All the illustrations were done by Pauline Baynes.

The novels were all originally published between 1950 and 1956, in London. ‘Narnia’ came from a town in Italy – Narni. Narni is written in Latin as Narnia.books

Lewis borrowed themes and ideas liberally from various ancient sources. From christian stories, to Greek and Roman mythology, to Irish and British mythology. Lewis’ books differed from children’s literature up until that time in that he explored themes such as religion, race and gender. He did not write the books in the order they were published, and they were not published in the chronological order of the series. Aslan – the talking lion – is the only character to feature in all 7 books. He first appears in The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe and his character is further developed throughout the books.

This website presents all the books found in the Chronicles series, and gives an overview of the plots for each of then, as well some little known information on each book.

The series includes the following books:

  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)
  • Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia (1951)
  • The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)
  • The Silver Chair (1953)
  • The Horse and His Boy (1954)
  • The Magician’s Nephew (1955)
  • The Last Battle (1956)

Have a look around, and enjoy!